Better-than-Graham Gluten Free S’Mores!

1977 Retro Cardinal Camper

1977 Retro Cardinal Camper

Camping is one of my family’s favorite Arizona activities in the spring and summer. We have a retro 1977 Cardinal camping trailer that we take out whenever the temperature in Phoenix gets unbearable, which is pretty much any time from May through October.

One of my favorite pre-Celiac camping treats was always S’Mores and I was devastated when I first learned I couldn’t eat them anymore. I went to summer camp every year until I was 16 (thanks mom and dad!) and these were always on the menu. We’d sit around the campfire singing songs and roasting marshmallows to squish between a piece of chocolate and two graham crackers. Oh, the memories!

I hadn’t had a S’Mores in years until a few weeks ago at work (I’ll get to why I was eating S’Mores at work later) when I concocted a better-than-graham gluten free version of the

Gluten Free Smore

Gluten Free S'more

standard S’Mores that have even the gluten-tolerant folks asking me how to make them.

I replaced the usual graham crackers with two of Pamela’s Products Chunky Chocolate Chip Cookies, cut a marshmallow in half and wedged a square of chocolate between them and put them between the cookies. Then, I

popped it in the microwave for 20 seconds (15 would have been perfect though, make sure to keep your eye on it.)

Pull it out, give it a few seconds for the marshmallow to stiffen a little and dive in! Who needs boring old graham crackers when you can eat your S’Mores between two soft and gooey cookies anyway?

So back to why I was making S’Mores at work…One of my co-workers started a Friday tradition called Snack Day. Everyone who is the snack day club signs up for their assigned Friday and bring snacks for up to 20 people to share.  What first started as healthy snack of fruits and veggies has quickly morphed into a smorgasbord of divine gluttony. We’ve run the gamut between peanut butter everything snack day, make your own hot dog bar, and recently a make your own ice cream sundae bar – all starting at 9:00 a.m. every Friday morning.

My whole office knows I’m gluten free as I’m quite vocal about my dietary limitations and can often be found asking to smell people’s food so I can remember what it tastes like. However, I never, ever expect people to accommodate me! It’s not their job to track my special needs diet and I usually keep a back up snack in case I can’t eat the weekly snack day treat. Lately though, everyone has been going out of their way to bake or buy a gluten free snack just for me.

This is where the cookie S’Mores came from.  Snack day was a make your own S’Mores bar and the assigned snack day volunteer brought in Pamela’s cookies just so I wouldn’t feel left out. It’s given me a lot of new ideas for gluten free snacks that I’ll share in the weeks to come.

I hope you make gluten free better-than-graham S’Mores part of your family camping tradition too.

Enjoy!
Jessica

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About GlutenFreeAZ

I've been gluten free since 2002 and want to help educate people and support the gluten free community.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better-than-Graham Gluten Free S’Mores!

  1. Lauren says:

    Jessica,
    I just wanted to let you know there are gluten free graham crackers out there! We camp a lot too, as we live in Oregon, and sincerely missed s’mores after finding out me, my sister and mom have celiac. We tried cookies and even made our own cookies, but nothing was the same. Then, we went to Jake’s Gluten Free Store, located in Meridian, Idaho, and they had gf graham crackers! And they taste sooo much like the old ones! You can find them online, as I’m not sure of the brand name right now. Wish you luck!

  2. spunkyaz says:

    Thanks for the tip Lauren! I’m going to check out my local Sprouts to see if they carry them.

  3. Siobhan says:

    I enjoyed reading your review, and think that this will be dangerous information to share with my celiac hubby. He’s been known to finish off a bag of Pamela’s in one foul swoop. Adding marshmallows and chocolate to the equation will likely only make him sick (notice I didn’t say make him ease off?) Anyhow, I enjoyed the choice in cookie that you used as Pamela’s are so yummy already. In the past, we have camped out with Kinnikinnick graham crackers to make s’mores, and those are always a hit! In fact- Pamela’s and Kinnikinnick are our favorites for pre-made gluten free goodness- for when I don’t feel like Betty Crocker!

Leave a Reply

