Eating Gluten Free in Paris

Jessica & Kendall in Paris

Jessica & Kendall in Paris

I’ve been trying to eat gluten free in Paris for the last 3 days now, and have to say it’s been more of a challenge than I thought it would be. It has been torture every time I walk past a patisserie full of croissants and pain au chocolats and not being able to eat the foods that I used to indulge in during my pre-Celiac days. Worse though, is that finding something convenient and gluten free that my 3 year old daughter will eat in Paris – that has been a challenge in its own right. Man cannot live on French Fries alone … or can he?

Breakfast at our hotel has been a total lifesaver for us, and we’ve been really taking advantage of the “all you can eat” in the all you can eat buffet. It’s a nice change to start out the day with meats, cheese, bacon, and yogurt.  Yes, there is probably cross contamination, but at least it gives me tons of energy for a day of walking to see the sites. I brought a loaf of Ener-G “sans gluten” Tapioca bread with me from the states and it’s been my saving grace. I may be the only person in the world to eat peanut butter and jelly two times a day in Paris, but hey, it’s calories. And I’ve grown to like my mid-afternoon nutella sandwhich – who wouldn’t!

I have had two very amazing meals out with a local friend, who helped us talk about what items will be safer for me to eat. Were they actually Gluten free? Probably not, but the closest I think it was going to get – and the meals were absolutely magnifique!

I finally found myself a “biologique” today, the equivalent of small health food store, and loaded up on a variety of gluten free snacks and treats. The best surpirse was buying a fresh loaf of gluten free bread! It’s ten times better than US stuff…made with quinoa and has a great texture that mimics french bread somewhat. This at least gives me something to eat for dinner – I’m off to find some brie and veggies to make myself a sandwich!

Au revior!

About GlutenFreeAZ

I've been gluten free since 2002 and want to help educate people and support the gluten free community.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Diet, Gluten Free Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eating Gluten Free in Paris

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I have a dream of going to the south of France for a month in the next couple of years and the “dream” of it all has made me forget about the reality- what are we going to eat?

    Thankfully my son and I have an intolerance, and not celiac, but the uncomfortableness of going off of our diets will take its toll within a couple of days. Although, I understand from a naturopath colleague of mine (my co-host Dr. JJ), who also has a gluten intolerance, he found that when he went to Europe and the middle east that the wheat there was different and he didn’t experience the same discomfort.

    That’s what I’m hoping for 🙂

    I would have the same difficulty avoiding the patisserie- Mille Feuilles are my favourite.

    Bon Voyage!

Leave a Reply

