Gluten Free Pizza Options at Streets of New York

Streets of New York LogoI’ve driven by the Streets of New York for the last 5 years just wishing I could eat there. Even from down the road you can smell the aroma of garlic and freshly baked pizza and I lamented the fact that there was nothing on the menu that was within my diet. Fast forward 5 years and they now have a gluten free pizza menu as well as several appetizers available for those with Celiac or gluten sensitivity.

For starters, they offer a gluten free version of bruschetta as well as a spinach and artichoke dip that will nearly have you licking the plate. The spin-dip was by far my

Gluten Free Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Gluten Free Spinach and Artichoke Dip

favorite, boasting just enough vegetables to make you think you’re eating health food, but with a hearty helping of cheese to remind you that you’re actually indulging. We also ordered up a batch of their gluten free honey BBQ wings and my 3 year old couldn’t get enough of those, shrieking excitedly every time she licked the sweet sauce. Be sure to specify when you order wings that you need them prepared gluten free; they have a separate preparation process for gluten free wings to help reduce any possibility of cross contamination.

Streets of New York Gluten Free Prep Area Phoenix

Streets of New York Gluten Free Prep Area Phoenix

Let’s talk pizza: I’ve been eating a lot of it the last few years since more and more restaurants are now serving it. My main concern with many pizza places that sell gluten free is that they serve the crust, but don’t know squat about proper preparation techniques. Jimmy, the General Manager at the Camelback and 3rd St. location, gave me a tour of the kitchen on my recent visit. He showed me their gluten free preparation area, the separate tray and utensil storage area, and their cooler to show me that they follow recommended techniques to reduce the risk of cross contamination. Additionally, they use separate ingredients, racks, plates, gloves, and utensils to do their best to serve the Celiac and gluten free community. All locations have been trained on safe handling methods by Lynn Rae Ries of Gluten Free Creations, who also supplies their gluten free products.

We ordered 2 pizzas, both were 10 inch “personal” pizzas, but you could easily split one with a friend if you started with an appetizer. All ingredients tasted very fresh and the crust had a great texture, which is one of the hardest things to get right in the gluten free world. I personally like a combo of black olives, salami, and spinach, which won’t break the bank at around $15. My husband opted for a garlic chicken, peppers, and mushroom pizza, which was tasty as well. They will even deliver and offer catering of their gluten free items for the big game or an office party.

The atmosphere reminds me a lot of a pizza place in Boston my mom used to take me – the kind of place that you would go celebrate winning a soccer match with your team, go on a casual first date, or take the family out for Sunday lunch. After dark, the lights go down and the candles come out while their patio lights up with fairy lights.

The only thing I could suggest for Streets of New York is to add some gluten free offerings to the dessert menu (I’m a sucker for chocolate) and to add a gluten free beer or cider option to the drink menu. Overall, it was a great dining experience and I’m sure that my family will be back soon!

They have locations throughout Phoenix, Tempe, Mesa, Chandler, and even Las Vegas. Check them out: http://www.StreetsofNewYork.com

About GlutenFreeAZ

I've been gluten free since 2002 and want to help educate people and support the gluten free community.
This entry was posted in Pizza, Restaurants, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gluten Free Pizza Options at Streets of New York

  1. Jennifer says:

    Glad to see your posts again! Keep up the great work!!

  2. Thanks Jennifer! I took a break for a while but am glad to be back now. 🙂

    Cheers!
    Jessica

  3. Lynne says:

    Jessica,
    I was so happy to read your post about Streets of New York! Two days ago I started our daughter on a gluten free diet to see if that is the cause of her acne. She’s adjusting ok, but has been searching the internet for restaurants that have a gluten free menu. Streets of NY is one of our favorite pizza places so she’ll be thrilled she can still eat there! I started a baking blog 55 days ago, so I’ll now be needing to bake some gluten free recipes, too.
    Thanks for the site! I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

