Delicious Gluten Free French Toast Recipe

My wonderful, super-fantastic hubby woke me up with homemade gluten free French Toast this morning and it couldn’t have been more delicious! While he won’t give me his secret recipe, even though I begged, I can tell you that there are two ingredients in his recipe that made this gluten Free French Toast even better than the pre-gluten days; Udi’s Gluten Free White Bread and a little bit of lemon juice.

Gluten Free French Toast

Gluten Free French Toast a la Gavin!

I’ve only recently discovered Udi’s Gluten Free products, and I’m now a huge fan of their gluten free bread. The texture is fantastic – light, fluffy, and subtle taste, and for those of you that have other food allergies on top of the gluten, they’re dairy and soy free to boot. The fact that I don’t have to toast it just to eat it makes it a lot faster to prepare as well.

As best I can tell without giving his secret recipe away, my hubby made his french toast (or Eggy Bread as he calls it) with these ingredients, all gluten free of course.

  • Udi’s Gluten Free White Bread
  • 4 Eggs
  • Splash of Vanilla
  • Splash of milk
  • Splash of lemon juice (he says it give it a zesty kick!)
  • a pinch of brown sugar
  • Powdered sugar for topping

He mixes it all together, tosses in the bread, allows it to soak in and cooks it up on the stove top until it’s golden brown. Dust it with a little powdered sugar and drizzle with syrup, and voila, you’ve got yourself some of the tastiest gluten free French Toast in Arizona!

If you really want a knock-your-socks-off finish to your breakfast, why not pair it with a cup of coffee from my friends over at What’s Your Grind Coffee Roasters. They locally roast all their coffees in Arizona and offer a selection of Fair Trade Certified coffees.

Have a great weekend, and don’t forget, there’s still time to enter my Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Food Giveaway! One lucky reader will get a four pack of Bob’s products from the nice folks over at Bob’s Red Mill.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About GlutenFreeAZ

I've been gluten free since 2002 and want to help educate people and support the gluten free community.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Gluten Free Recipes, Sweet Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Delicious Gluten Free French Toast Recipe

  1. Jaime H says:

    Looks great!

    By the way, there’s a new-ish company out of Colorado called Canyon Bakehouse and they are a dedicated Gluten free bakery. They are trying to break in to the Arizona market. I thought their breads were out of this world!

    Here’s the link to my review
    http://frugalgreenglutenfreemom.blogspot.com/2010/06/canyon-bakehouse-gluten-free-breads.html

    They are $4.99 a loaf (for all items) and I have been bugging Sprouts to bring them in. As much as I adore Gluten Free Creations, they are a little pricey.

  2. Pingback: My name is Jessica and I am a Carboholic « Gluten Free AZ

Leave a comment